New Paleo Journey…

New Paleo Journey…

So, here’s where things sit currently:

158lbs….been doing Paleo about 50% of the time since I last hit my semi-shredded 151lbs in November 2011. Since I completed that 30-day challenge, I continued to live pretty healthy but just found myself less focused on my diet than I should have been. I am certainly one of those people that needs to see some type of finish line (some working goal) in order to truly focus in strongly and push myself through the tougher times.

So, enter the Atlanta International Open- IBJJF!

IBJJF

I have a Jiu Jitsu tournament coming up on September 15, 2012. The weight class that I’m aiming to compete in is 154lbs. However, you weigh-in with your GI (about 3-4 lbs.) and you weigh in right before you compete (as opposed to weighing in the day before and being able to fuel up the next day for competition). So, I’ve got a little over a month to be down to ideal weight & be there while being fully hydrated and have the energy to compete at 100%.

With that, the goal has been set to be at – or below – 148lbs.

Probably the lightest weight that I’ve been since perhaps middle school.

But the twist is that I’m not just looking to “get skinny“. I have a workout plan mapped out to gain strength while losing the weight! I will do body weight strength training (following along with How2-Be-Fit.com’s strategy) and doing strict Paleo eating, limiting red meats, sticking strict to Fish & Chicken. Emphasizing strongly on greens and vegetables with water & hot-tea being the only liquids.

I will do my best to document my daily meals & workout schedule.

Foods I will be frequently visiting:

  • Sweet Potato
  • Raw Baby Spinach
  • Eggs, Eggs, EGGS!
  • Fish (Talapia)
  • Chicken
  • Almonds
  • Avocado
  • Varying Fruits

^Those are my staples…if I’m ill-prepared, I turn to these as a default…plus, these are just my favorite health-foods! J So, you’ll likely see a theme of these items being regulars in my daily diet.

Also going to do my best to document my daily workouts/fitness/training.

They will consist primarily of body-weight strength training, Core workouts & (mostly) Brazilian Jiu Jitsu drilling/sparring/training.

I started on 8/6/2012.

I weighed in @ 158 lbs.

This will be a growing (b)LOG of the next 42 days! I hope you can learn things as I learn them…and this helps inspire you to get started, or continue your path!!

Day 1 (8/6/2012):

158lbs

  • 6 Scrambled Eggs (coconut oil used)
  • 1 Extra Large Sweet Potato
  • 2 cups of Hot Tea
  • 3 Peices of Baked Fish (Talapia)
  • Lots Of Water

NO WORKOUT…nursing hamstring injury

Day 2 (8/7/2012):
  • 6 Scrambled Eggs (coconut oil used)
  • 1 Large Sweet Potato
  • 2 cups of Hot Tea
  • 1 Banana
  • 2 Peices of Baked Fish
  • Bowl of Raw Spinach w/ Lemon Juice
  • 1 Avocado

WORKOUT: 1 hour of BJJ Drilling in the AM. 2 Hours of BJJ Class in the PM.

First pic:

Pre-Challenge Pic

Lovely Hairdo, I know!

Day 3 (8/8/2012):
  • Almond Milk, Chopped Almonds/Walnuts (Paleo Cereal)
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 cup of Hot Tea
  • 1 Large Sweet Potato
  • 2 Peices of Baked Fish
  • Bowl of Raw Spinach w/ Lemon Juice
  • 1 bowl of Grapes

WORKOUT:  2 Hours of BJJ Class in the PM.

Day 4 (8/9/2012):
  • 6 Scrambled Eggs (coconut oil used)
  • 1 Piece of Baked Chicken Breast
  • Bowl of Baked Beets & Sweet Potatoes (chopped)

WORKOUT: 1.5 hours of BJJ Drilling in the AM.

Day 5 (8/10/2012):

Down to 154!! =)

  • 1 Banana, 2 Apples, 1 bowl of Grapes
  • 1 Large Sweet Potato
  • 1 Piece of Baked Chicken Breast

WORKOUT:  2 Hours of BJJ Drilling in the PM.

Day 6 (8/11) & Day 7 (8/12):

Took both as ‘off’ days from diet, for the weekend. Didn’t eat the best….restart things on Monday.

WORKOUT:  1 1/2 Hours of BJJ Training on Saturday, rest on Sunday.

Day 8 (8/13/2012):
  • 6 Scrambled Eggs (coconut oil used)
  • 2 Cups of Hot Tea (no additives)
  • 1/2 large Sweet Potato
  • 2 Cans of Tuna (in Water)
  • 2 Boiled Eggs
  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/2 serving of Baked Beets & Sweet Potatoes (in Coconut Oil)

WORKOUT: 1.5 hours of BJJ Drilling in the AM.

Day 9 (8/14/2012):
  • 6 Scrambled Eggs (coconut oil used)
  • 3 Cups of Hot Tea (no additives)
  • 2 Baked Chicken Drum Sticks
  • 2 servings of Baked Beets & Sweet Potatoes (in Coconut Oil)

WORKOUT: 1 hour of BJJ Drilling in the AM. 2 Hours of BJJ Class in the PM.

More to come….

About cleanleansharp

Lover of all things: God, Family, Health, Jiu Jitsu, & Huskers

Leave a Reply

