Paleo Coconut "Popcorn"!

Craving Popcorn? Or perhaps some kind of simple snack while you watch the game this weekend?Here’s a neat solution:

(I’ll say this much: this is my first time working with a whole coconut, so it was all new to me and therefore I stumbled my way through this whole darn thing. haha. But that is sometimes the fun of trying new things)

Some tips for buying your coconut:

Whole Coconut

  1. 1

    Select a whole coconut and place it against your ear.

  2. 2

    Shake it up and down a little. This is to see if there is water inside the coconut. If you do not hear anything at all, this means that the coconut is too ripe and it is likely that it will taste soapy.

  3. 3

    Check that the coconut is intact. Avoid any coconuts that are cracked or punctured. There must be no moisture leaking from its three dark eyes.

  4. 4

    Feel the weight of the coconut. A good coconut is a heavy one; compare it with other coconuts to feel the differing weights.[1]

  5. 5

    Return a rancid coconut to the store. Even after using the tests outlined in the previous steps, some coconuts are just not good inside and all you can do is exchange it for another one.

  6. 6

    Store a whole coconut in the fridge for up to two months. Once opened, you can keep the coconut meat for several days only. If you decide to grate it, however, you can freeze it for 8 to 10 months.

Once you have your coconut…here are your steps for Paleo Coconut “Popcorn”:

Drain the coconut (puncture holes in the ‘eye’ of the coconut and let all the coconut water drain out…you can use this for multiple things also, so you may want to save the coconut water in a bowl)

Once Drained, break open your coconut. After I already did mine, I found a better way to knock it around the ‘equator’ of the coconut in order to have 2 perfect halves. Instead, I did the caveman way (haha): wrap it with a towel and smash it with a hammer!

Remove the coconut meat. Here again is where being prepared helps! I never purchased a Coconut Tool. So I had to try to remove the coconut meat with a butter knife (this is definitely the “hard” way).

Peal off the brown ‘skin’ on the coconut meat (there may be nutritional benefits to this..but I wasn’t sure, so I removed it with a potato peeler) – once all done…rinse you coconut meat off from any debris.

Cut into small pieces (about 1/2″ to 1/4″)–I realize later: THE SMALLER, THE BETTER

Over medium heat, saute the coconut meat in a pan until browned – sir regularly – I used Coconut Oil with this

The smaller your pieces, the quicker it will cook….

When it’s ‘done’…it will be browned and should be making a ‘popping’ sound – much like popcorn!

No seasoning needed….let cool and enjoy! Take the tips above and make these the ‘easy’ way instead of the  ‘hard’ way like me (get the Coconut Tool, for example) and this snack is VERY worth the time!

Try it for the next sporting-watch-party where normally there would be chips or other snacks. Your guests will LOVE IT!

About cleanleansharp

Lover of all things: God, Family, Health, Jiu Jitsu, & Huskers

5 comments

  1. Lisa

    Thanks for the ideas and tips. This sounds amazing and I can’t wait to try it out!

    • Thanks for checking it out, Lisa! Let me know how it turns out!
      Soon I plan to put together a recipe eBook with these and more – completely for FREE…so, please stay tuned 🙂
      Will be releasing it through my other website…when you get a chance, check out the free ebook that is already available @ http://www.how2-be-fit.com/nutrition

      And find us on FACEBOOK:
      Clean.Lean.Sharp.
      How2-Be-Fit

      Thanks again! 🙂
      -Sean

      • Lisa

        Hey Sean! Cool, I’ll check out that e-book—thanks! I stumbled across this blog, actually looking for Paleo popcorn, and voíla, here it was! : )

        The fried coconut was really tasty! I did cut my chunks smaller, but then I noticed maybe there was too much surface area, which made them a bit more greasy. I know, I know—no such thing as too much coconut oil!

        I’m wondering what may happen if I add a little sea salt next time, and / or maybe some dried coconut flakes…?

      • Lisa

        Well, the salt was a bad idea. I added the flakes, but they cooked a lot faster than the fresh coconut meat, large and still juicy. (Duh! I should’ve though this one through a bit more!) if I do add flakes again, they’ll be added at the end, once the coconut meat is nearly done.

  2. Lisa

    And by the way, your coconut-opening tips were great—thanks!

Leave a Reply

