Paleo "Fried" chicken & Paleo Sweet Potato "Fries"

So, if you don’t already know – I have been trying to stay on a Paleo lifestyle with my diet.

The modern dietary regimen known as the Paleolithic diet (abbreviated paleo diet or paleodiet), also popularly referred to as the caveman diet, Stone Age diet and hunter-gatherer diet, is a nutritional plan based on the presumed ancient diet of wild plants and animals that various human species habitually consumed during the Paleolithic era—a period of about 2.5 million years duration that ended around 10,000 years ago with the development of agriculture.

I’m fairly new to the lifestyle and still have moments when I steer off course. So, I’m certainly still learning my way through. I recommend it to everyone I even talk about nutrition with. I’m about 1 1/2 months in – and I’ve been feeling INCREDIBLE – weight has been going down and phsyic has been trimming down incredibly. So, here’s a Paleo-friendly meal that I prepared tonight:



“SoG Cracklin Chicken” by way of Son of Grok:

Ingredients:

– Chicken tenders or breasts
– Egg (white and yolk mixed)

– Crushed Pork Crackling or Pork Rinds. You can either collect all the crumbs that are left over from your normal stash or crush some up on purpose.
“Sweet Potato Fries” by way of Paleo Lifestyle:

  • 2 Lb of sweet potatoes cut in large wedges. You can leave the skin on or peal it, I prefer to leave it on.
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 2-3 teaspoons or your favorite fresh or dried herb (i used: thyme)

1. Paint your chicken with egg.
2. Cover with crackling crumbs using the egg like a glue.

3. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until cooked.

BAM! 4. Enjoy!
1. Coat evenly the sweet potato wedges with the oil and the herbs.

2. Roast to sweet potato fries for about 20 minutes @ 425 F

Again: ENJOY!

Even my 1 1/2 year old daughter, Lael, approved.
All the kids, wifey & myself enjoyed this meal SO much…I can’t wait to prepare it again with more chicken/potatoes so that I’ll enjoy throughout the week! I’m far from a cook – so, when I say “this was easy” to prepare…you can believe it’s easy! Give it a try this week and let me know what you think. As a tip for the baking strategy (on advice from my wife) I cover the chicken with foil for about 30 minutes and then take the cover off for the last 5-10 minutes…don’t ask me why, lol, but it works…keeps the chicken very moist…and you keep your crunchy exterior.
Was a fun, easy & healthy meal for the entire family to enjoy. I probably should add some greens on the side next time to round out the meal…but like I said, I’m still a beginner at this! =)
About cleanleansharp

Lover of all things: God, Family, Health, Jiu Jitsu, & Huskers

Leave a Reply

